Skip Navigation

Jasinski Hits 400

Professor Jerry Jasinski (Chemistry) has reached another milestone in his long academic career at Keene State College. In collaboration with his many regional, national and international scientific colleagues, he now has co-authored over 400 research papers in major refereed scientific journals related to his work more recently focused on the X-ray crystallography of biologically and pharmaceutically significant molecules.

His recent award of $290,000 from the National Science Foundation for the purchase of a new state-of-the-art CCD single crystal X-ray diffractometer system has allowed him to extend his research activities to directly include KSC undergraduate students as well as faculty and students from several New England Colleges (Dartmouth, Middlebury, Williams, St. Anselm’s, Clark University, UMASS-Boston, Fairfield University, and the University of New Hampshire). His international reputation has as a coeditor of Acta Crystallogrphica-Section E (a major online international research journal) has resulted in significant collaborations with faculty and students at the University of Mysore, the University of Mangalore, JIWAJI University, Guru Nanak Dev University, Manipur University and the University of Bombay in India as well as with faculty and students at the University of the West Indies-Cave Hill, Earciyes University, Turkey, University of Mashhad, Iran, Faculate des Sciences et Techniques University, Senegal, Allama Iqbal Open University, Pakistan and the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth South Africa.

These kinds of professional collaborations allow for researchers to share data, tools, and ideas impacting areas of synthetic and biological chemistry, not only to systems of biological interest, but also to materials science applications as well. In this venue, KSC undergraduates become coauthors on these papers as they get involved in the many projects that are becoming available to them under the mentorship of Professor Jasinski. These opportunities have in the past and continue to pave the way toward selective entrance of these undergraduates to quality graduate schools or positions in science related industry or as science teachers in a most competitive world. Over the past 15 years over 30 undergraduates have coauthored over 140 of these papers. More recently in just the past two years eight of these research students coauthored 40 papers including 20 by senior Amanda Keeley and four by senior Shannon Krauss over the past two semesters.

Over the past four years, Professor Jasinski has co-authored over 40 papers a year, a phenomenal pace at any institution, and particularly at Keene State College.

Listed below are examples of the work put forth by Jasinski and his students in the past year or so (asterisks indicate KSC student coauthors):

Acetonitrile monosolvate, Brian J. Anderson, Alexander M. Keeler, Kelly A. O’Rourke, Shannon T. Krauss*, Jerry P. Jasinski, Acta Cryst. (2013). E69, o11.

Diphenylmethyl benzoate, Manpreet Kaur, Jerry P. Jasinski, Amanda C. Keeley, H. S. Yathirajan, M. S. Siddegowda, Acta Cryst. (2013). E69, o81.

Bosentan monohydrate, Manpreet Kaur, Jerry P. Jasinski, Amanda C. Keeley, H. S. Yathirajan, Richard Betz, Thomas Gerber, Ray J. Butcher, Acta Cryst. (2013). E69, o12–o13.

6-(3-Chlorophenyl)imidazo[2,1-b][1,3,4]thiadiazole, A.S. Praveen, Jerry P. Jasinski, Shannon T. Krauss, H. S. Yathirajan, B. Narayana Acta Cryst. (2013). E69, o66.

2-(4-Methylphenyl)acetohydrazide, A.S. Praveen, Jerry P. Jasinski, Shannon T. Krauss, H. S. Yathirajan and B. Narayana, Acta Cryst. (2012). E68, o3467.

4-Methylphenyl quinoline-2-carboxylate, Fazal, E.; Jasinski, Jerry P.; Krauss, Shannon T.; Sudha, B. S.; Yathirajan, H. S., (2012), E68(11), o3231-o3232.

32-[1-(2-hydroxy-6-methoxyphenyl)ethylidene]-N-ethyl-hydrazinecarbothioamide, Brian J. Anderson, Christopher J. Kennedy, Jerry P. Jasinski, Acta Cryst. (2012). E68, o2982.

Three new [XC(O)NH]P(O)[N(CH2C6H5)2]2 phosphoric triamides (X=CClF2, 3-F-C6H4 and 3,5-F2-C6H3): a database analysis of tertiary mitrogen atomgeometry in compounds whth a C(O)NHP(O)[N]2 core, Mehrdad Pourayoubi, Jerry P. Jasinski, Samad Shoghpour, Hosseim Eshghi, Amanda c Keeley, Guiseppe Bruno and Hadi Amiri Rudbari, Acta Cryst, (2012). C68, o399–o404.

One-pot double [3+2] cycloaddition for diastereoselective synthesis of tetracyclic pyrrolidine compounds, Qing Lu, Gonghua Song, Jerry P. Jasinski, Amanda C. Keeley, Wei Zhang, Green Chemistry 14(11), 3010-3012 (2012).

Redetermination of loperamide monohydrate, Jasinski, Jerry P., Guild*, Curtis J., Dayananda, A. S., Yathirajan, H. S., Ramesha, A. R., Acta Cryst. (2012), E68(2), o539-o540.

(2E)-3-{4-[(1H-1,3-Benzimidazol-2-yl)methoxy]-3-ethoxyphenyl}-1-(4-bromophenyl)prop-2-en-1-one monohydrate, Jasinski, Jerry P., Miller, William M., Samshuddin, S., Narayana. B., Yathirajan, H.S., Acta Cryst. (2011), E67, o834-o835.

1-(10H-Phenothiazin-2-yl)ethanone, Jasinski, Jerry P., Pek, Albert E.** Nayak, Prakash S., Narayana, B. Yathirajan, H. S., Acta Cryst. (2011), E67(2), o430-o431.

Contact Marketing & Communications

Sarah Kossayda
Director of Marketing
☎ 603-358-2119