Skip Navigation

Professional Activities

At the Annual Meeting of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Jay Kahn was elected to a three-year term on the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education beginning July 1, 2013. The Commission accredits 232 colleges and universities in the six New England states and eight in other countries. The Commission, consisting of 26 institutional and public members, is recognized by the Council on Higher Education Accreditation and by the U.S. Department of Education as a reliable authority on the quality of education. The Commission makes decisions on accreditation policies and institutional accreditation decisions.

Mark C. Long, professor and chair of English, has been elected President of the Association for the Study of Literature and Environment (ASLE). Since 1992, ASLE has brought together teachers, writers, students, artists and environmentalists interested in the natural world and its meanings and representations in language and culture. ASLE is an interdisciplinary and international organization with over a thousand members and affiliated organizations in Europe, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, India, Japan, Korea and Taiwan. Mark will serve as Vice President in 2013, President in 2014, and Immediate Past President in 2015.

November 15-16, three mathematics faculty members and nine mathematics students attended the Northeastern Section of the Mathematical Association of American (NES/MAA) Fall Meeting at Bridgewater State University in Bridgewater, MA. All nine students, Joshua Binder-Brantley, Rebecca Brady, Brittany Boscarino, Kristopher Bucyk, Matthew Caputo, Samantha Caesar, Julia Marrone, Alexandrea Murby, and Kyle Virgin, participated in the Undergraduate Collegiate Mathematics Competition, and the team consisting of Joshua, Kristopher, and Matthew placed third out of 25 teams. In addition, Brittany Boscarino presented a talk entitled “Measuring an Angle with a Ruler,” and Rebecca Brady presented a talk entitled “A Rectangular Occurrence of Pi.” The KSC faculty in attendance included Vince Ferlini, Ockle Johnson, and Karen Stanish, who is the NES/MAA Chair.

Contact Marketing & Communications

Sarah Kossayda
Director of Marketing
☎ 603-358-2119