About the Redfern Arts Center

The Arts Center is named in honor of Dr. Leo F. Redfern, Keene State College President from 1969 to 1979 for his vision, commitment, and eloquence on behalf of the arts that made funding and construction of the facility a reality. In 1981, KSC inaugurated this new performing arts center, with the goal of providing unforgettable artistic encounters for the campus and community. Now in its 39th year, the Redfern Arts Center has reaffirmed its mission, vision, and values.

Theatre Overview & Technical Information

Contact

Jeannie-Marie Brown
Executive Artistic Director, Theatre and Dance
Jeannie-Marie.Brown@keene.edu
603-358-2466

Christopher Swist
Executive Artistic Director, Music
cswist@keene.edu
603-358-2155

Sharon Fantl
Marketing and Grants Manager
sfantl@keene.edu
603-358-2167

Jeremy Robarge
Theatre Operations Manager
jrobarge@keene.edu
603-358-2126

Alex Trombly
Technical Director
alex.trombly@keene.edu
603-358-2174

Hannah Scheck
Box Office Manager
hscheck@keene.edu
603-358-2170

Lara Shields
House Manager
lshields@keene.edu
603-358-2175

Rentals

Redfern Arts Center facilities and services may be rented by public/tax supported organizations, non-profit organizations, as well as private organizations and individuals. Several community groups have been presenting annual performances on the Redfern stages for many years including the New Hampshire Dance Institute (NHDI) which has performed its Event of the Year in the Main Theatre every Memorial Day weekend since 1987. Other community groups that have recently used the Redfern theatres include Children’s Stage Adventures, MoCo Arts, Monandnock Academy of Movement Arts, Monadnock Waldorf School, and Peterborough Dance Theatre.

Most spaces in the building are available to rent including three theatres, dressing and green rooms, and classrooms. Rental agreements can include the expertise of the Redfern staff in lighting, sound, and stage technology, front of house and ushering needs, and sale of tickets.

Scheduling space is completed in accordance with the Redfern and Keene State College rental policies, and must not conflict with the Redfern’s performance and academic schedule or college-sponsored programs. Facility rental and personnel costs will be charged according to the Keene State College fee schedule. Organizations will be charged for services and/or equipment as applicable.

For more information about the Redfern’s facilities please refer to the Technical Information section above. If you would like more information about renting space at the Redfern Arts Center, please contact Jeremy Robarge, Theatre Operations Manager, 603-358-2126.