Skip Navigation

Children's Literature Festival

CLF 2017



Established in 1986, the Keene State College Children’s Literature Festival Award was given to an author and/or illustrator in recognition of continuing distinguished contributions in the field of children’s literature.

Presented each spring, the award was given to an author and/or illustrator who had made outstanding contributions over a period of at least ten years, was currently writing or illustrating, and whose body of work showed variety and diversity while maintaining the highest standards in literature for children.

In 2000, the painful decision was made to discontinue the awards due to low attendance at the awards ceremony. The money that was allocated to the ceremony is now used to support the Festival Gallery Collection

Award-winning illustrator Charles Mikolaycak’s drawing of an owl (above), Keene State College’s mascot, is used on various Festival Award promotions.


1986 - Maurice Sendak
1987 - Katherine Paterson
1988 - Leo and Diane Dillon 1989 - Barbara Cooney
1990 - Betsy Byars
1991 - Trina Schart Hyman
1992 - Eric Carle
1993 - Natalie Babbitt
1994 - Patricia C. McKissack
1995 - Jane Yolen
1996 - Jerry Pinkney
1997 - Jean Fritz
1998 - Tomie de Paola
1999 - Lois Lowry