Skip Navigation

New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)

The New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) provides accreditation services for more than 2000 public and private institutions in the six-state region—Pre-K through university. Emanating from high quality standards, NEASC accreditation uses self-reflection, peer review, and best practices as integral components of its assessment process and monitors the follow-up endeavors leading to continuous school/program improvement. NEASC consists of six commissions, each of which sets the standards for a particular segment of the educational community.

The Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (CIHE) of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges is the regional accreditation agency for colleges and universities in the six New England states: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Two institutions in Greece, three in Switzerland, and one in Bulgaria, Bermuda, and Lebanon, respectively, are also affiliated with CIHE.

The Commission consists of faculty and administrators from affiliated institutions and public members. The Commission is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a reliable authority on the quality of education for the institutions it accredits. The Commission is also recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA), affirming that its Standards and processes are consistent with the quality, improvement, and accountability expectations that CHEA has established.

Keene State College was initially accredited in 1949 and completed the Self-Study/Site Team visitation process in the Fall of 2010. On May 4, 2011, Keene State College received notification of its continuing accreditation. MORE INFORMATION