KST Cover

By the Way

What's new along Appian Way

by Lucy Webb

Three Outstanding Alumni Honored at Reunion

Chika Masuda '91 and Bruce Stronach '74 photo

Bruce Stronach '74 received the Alumni Achievement award for 2010. He is the dean of Temple University, Japan Campus. Because he could not be in Keene, Chika Masuda '91, who lives near Tokyo and visited Keene last August, was able to bring Dr. Stronach's award to him.

Also honored by the Alumni Association were Brent Elwell (1977-2010), who received the Outstanding Service Award posthumously, and Jack Griffin '72, recipient of the Sprague Drenan Award for his service to the Alumni Association and its activities.

Education Secretary Arne Duncan Visits KSC

When classes started August 30, a special guest was present: U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan. Duncan visited an education class at Keene State as part of his "Courage in the Classroom" bus tour.

He and Dean of Professional and Graduate Studies Melinda Treadwell led a lively discussion with undergraduate and graduate students about the future of education and educators.

Convocation Honors Rousmaniere, Howard, and Ferrucci

At New Student Convocation August 26, Keene State had the opportunity to bestow three honors - the Granite State Award, an honorary Doctorate of Humanities, and the Distinguished Teacher of the Year award.

James Rousmaniere Jr., editor and president of the Keene Sentinel, received the Granite State Award, which recognizes outstanding achievements by community members.

Dr. Muriel A. Howard, president of the Association of State Colleges and Universities, was granted an honorary Doctor of Humanities degree for her outstanding contributions to higher education and her commitment to the ideals of public higher education.

Perhaps most important to the 1,200 incoming students, Dr. Beverly Ferrucci, professor of mathematics, received the Distinguished Teacher Award.

Dr. Ferrucci's address to the students.

Reflections Collaboration Wins Oral History Award

The Reflections project, a collaboration between Keene State (Professor Rose Kundanis), Franklin Pierce University, the Historical Society of Cheshire County (Alan Rumrill '79, director), Cheshire TV, the Keene Sentinel, and the Keene Public Library (Nancy Vincent and Sally Miller, executive producers), is the winner of the Oral History Association's 2010 Elizabeth B. Mason Small Project Award.

Reflections is an oral history project that began with "story circles" conducted by John Harris of FPU and videotaped by Cheshire TV. From those story circles, several oral history documentaries were created.

Story circles are ongoing. The fall 2010 story circles invited conversations about work in local mills and industries, and military service in World War II and Korea.

If you would like to participate or receive more information, contact the Historical Society at 603-352-1895.

Guitar Orchestra Performs in Ecuador

Members of the Keene State College Guitar Orchestra (Colin Isotti, Harold Jones, David Pastore, and Andrew Johnston), with their director, Dr. Jose Manuel Lezcano, performed in Quito and northern Ecuador this summer.

Their program included the world premiere of KSC student Brian Campbell's Rio for guitar ensemble, and the South American premiere of Dr. Lezcano's Homenaje a Victor Jara, as well as works by Vivaldi, Sor, and Machado.

Dr. Lezcano was commissioned by Meet the Composer New England and the Boston Guitar Society to compose his work celebrating the music and life of slain singer-songwriter and Chilean political activist Victor Jara.

Erin Dallas Receives Award of Valor

Anyone who has been around Keene State over the past three years has likely cheered for Erin Dallas (Keene State Today, Winter 2010, the All-American field hockey player whose triumph over a serious post-surgical bacterial infection was nothing short of miraculous.

The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has awarded her the 2010 ECAC Award of Valor, which "honors ECAC athletes whose courage, motivation, and relentless determination serves as an inspiration to all. The recipients exemplify strength of character and perseverance deserving recognition as being truly triumphant."

Three other remarkable athletes also received the award: Erin Doolan (Springfield College), Merzudin Ibric (Wheaton College), and Kevin Laue (Manhattan College).